Cbd fifth National Report Azerbaijan (English version)

Yüklə 0,85 Mb.
Pdf görüntüsü
ölçüsü0,85 Mb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   30



PART I: Biodiversity status, trends and threats and 

implications for human well-being 


1.1 Context 


Azerbaijan’s  National  Report  to  the  Convention on  Biological Diversity  has  been  prepared  in 

accordance  with  Article  26  of  the  Convention  and  COP  decision  X/10  of  the  Convention, 

whereby  parties  are  required  to  submit  their  fifth  national  reports  by  30  March  2014.  The 

structure of the report is based on the Guidelines for the Fifth National Report published by the 



Azerbaijan is bordered by Georgia to the north-west, Russia to the north, Iran to the south, and 

Armenia  to  the  south-west  and  west  (see  Map  1  below).  A  small  part  of  Nakhchivan  also 

borders Turkey to the north-west. 


Map 1: Physical map of Azerbaijan 



























Geographically,  Azerbaijan  is  dominated  by  the  Caspian  Sea  forming  its  eastern  border,  the 

Greater Caucasus mountain range to the north, the Lesser Caucasus in the southwest, the Talish 

Mountains  to  the  south  and  the  extensive  flatlands  in  the  centre  of  the  country.  About  60 

percent  of  the  country  consists  of  mountains  and  their  foothills;  the  elevation  changes  over  a 

relatively  short  distance  from  lowlands  to  highlands.  Except  for  its  eastern  Caspian  shoreline 

and  some  areas  bordering  Georgia  and  Iran,  Azerbaijan  is  surrounded  by  mountains.  The 

highest elevations occur in the Greater Caucasus, where Mount Bazarduzu rises to 4,466 metres 

above sea level. Eight large rivers flow from the Greater and Lesser Caucasus Ranges into the 

central  Kura-Araz  lowlands,  named  after  Azerbaijan’s  longest  river,  the  Kura,  and  its  main 



tributary,  the  Araz.  The  Kura  drains  into  the 

Caspian,  forming  a  delta  a  short  distance 

downstream from the junction with the Araz. 


Azerbaijan  is  the  largest  (with  a  total  land 

surface  area  of  ~86,600  km²)  and  most 

populous  country  (with  a  population  of  ~9.3 

million)  in  the  Southern  Caucasus.  The 

greatest  concentration  of  the  population  is 

found  in  the  coastal  areas,  with  more  than  4 

million  people  located  in  and  around  the 

capital, Baku.  


Azerbaijan  has  a  special  administrative  sub-

division  -  the  Nakhchivan  Autonomous 

Republic  -  separated  from  the  rest  of 

Azerbaijan by a strip of Armenian territory. In 

addition,  Nagorno-Karabakh  region  and  7 

adjacent  districts  have  been  occupied  by 

Armenia  in  Azerbaijan’s  southwest,  for  more 

than  20  years.  The  occupied  area  constitutes 

~20% of the total territory of Azerbaijan. 


Azerbaijan is situated at the juncture of several 

bio-geographical  areas  (the  Eastern  Palaeartic, 

Turan, the Mediterranean, Asia Minor, and the 

Middle  East)  and  contains  species  of 

European,  Central  Asian  and  Mediterranean 

origin.  The  country  forms  an  integral  part  of 

the  Caucasus  Ecoregion,  a  region  with 

exceptional  levels  of  biodiversity  (WWF’s 

Global 200). Azerbaijan also shares the largest 

inland body of water in the world, the Caspian 

Sea,  with  four  other  countries  (Russia,  Iran, 

Turkmenistan and Kazakhstan). The biological 

diversity  of  the  Caspian  Sea  and  its  coastal 

zone makes the region particularly significant. 

One  of  the  most  important  characteristics  of 

the Caspian Sea’s biodiversity is the relatively 

high level of endemic species among its fauna. 


Approximately  4,500  species  of  vascular 

plants  have  been  recorded  in  the  country,  of 

which  210  are  considered  endemic  to 

Azerbaijan. This represents around 65% of the 

floral  diversity  of  the  Caucasus  region. 

Azerbaijan  is  considered  to  be  a  center  of 

origin for a number of globally important food 

crops.  It  is  especially  noted  for  fruit  and  nut 

trees, and the forests of the Greater and Lesser Caucasus Mountains and the Talish Mountains 

contain  wild  ancestors  of  apples,  persimmons,  walnuts,  chestnuts,  pistachios  and  many  other 

species that have been widely domesticated into many different varieties and strains.  


Shortly  after  Azerbaijan’s  independence,  Armenia 


occupied Nagorno-Karabakh 

and its 

surrounding territories.  


Although  the  UN  General  Assembly  resolution 

A/RES/62/244  of  14  March  2008  affirms  that  no 

State  shall  recognize  as  lawful  the  situation 

resulting  from  this  occupation,  Armenia  however 

still  illegally  exercises  effective  control  over 

Nagorno-Karabakh and the occupied territories.  


The  fifth  national  report  includes  these  occupied 

territories as an integral part of the internationally 

recognized borders of Azerbaijan. 




The  5  countries  bordering  the  Caspian  Sea  have 

not  yet  unanimously  agreed  on  its  legal  status. 

Currently the coastal countries operate in a mix of 

unilateral  and  bilateral  actions,  based  on 

differing  economic  and  political  interests.  Given 

the lack of an agreement on whether the Caspian 

is  a  'lake'  or  a  'sea',  two  sets  of  public 

international law could apply.  

If  the  Caspian  is  a  'sea'  in  legal  terms,  coastal 

countries  would  apply  the  United  Nations 

Convention  on  the  Law  of  the  Sea  of  1982 

(UNCLOS). Under UNCLOS, if the Caspian is a legal 

'sea',  each  littoral  state  receives  a  territorial  sea 

up to twelve nautical miles, an exclusive economic 

zone  (EEZ)  up  to  nautical  200  miles,  and  a 

continental shelf. Since the Caspian at its widest is 

less  than  200  miles,  UNCLOS  dictates  the  states 

apply a median line between claimants.  

If  the  Caspian  is  legally  defined  as  a  'lake',  the 

countries  could  use  the  international  law 

concerning  border  lakes  to  set  boundaries  and 

regulate the use of border water. 


The  fifth  national  report  thus  limits  its  reporting 

to the country’s participation in  the  conservation 

of  the  Caspian  Sea  under  the  Framework 

Convention  for  the  Protection  of  the  Marine 

Environment  of  the  Caspian  Sea

  (the  ‘Tehran 

Convention’) – and its ancillary Protocols - which 

entered into force in 2006. 



Yüklə 0,85 Mb.

Dostları ilə paylaş:
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   30

Verilənlər bazası müəlliflik hüququ ilə müdafiə olunur ©genderi.org 2024
rəhbərliyinə müraciət

    Ana səhifə